It seems to me that a lot of people will surrender to God’s will – until it infringes upon their own will. When the bread begins to cost them, they start to rationalize why they shouldn’t submit, why they should go their own way. I know I did it for a long time.

God would move on me, speak to me, and if it was something I did not want to hear, I would try to talk my way out of it. Either I would argue with God about it, or I would do my own thing and justify it by saying, “I have had difficult times, God understands,” or “I have to live a certain way to have my job and God doesn’t want me to lose my job,” or “I have to do certain things so I can have enough money to support my family. We have to eat, right?” (that was usually about tithing).

When it came to excuses, I had a million.

I was looking to the world for answers, a world that is crazy, messed up and temporary.

I wasn’t looking to God, to His Word for my answers. I was reading words, but they only went as far as my will would allow them. I was a shell with words floating around inside. I knew Bible verses and understood quite a few, but they meant nothing. And no amount of pretending or forcing would make it otherwise.

It wasn’t until I made a commitment to God, surrendered to Him, that I was filled with the Holy Ghost and then it all began to come together. I began to learn how to listen and how to know His voice. Now His voice guides me through every aspect of my life. I had to learn obedience which means lifting my hands during worship and praise, praying aloud, getting on my knees, being a part of a church (it is more than just attendance – it is involvement – that is difficult for me because of issues stemming from my Asperger’s, but I try) and living my life for God.

Being a Christian is not a lifestyle, it is LIFE. Anything else is death. If you are living any other way, you are dead, dry and brittle.

But you can’t live between the worlds. You can’t be committed to God when you are committed to the world. God rejects lukewarm commitment (which is not really commitment except to be committed to not being committed).

16 So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth. ~ Revelation 3:16

We, as Christians, are supposed to be set apart. We are called to shine the light on truth and lead others to Jesus by our words and our actions. We really can’t do that if we look just like everyone else. That would be confusing because others could not see the change in us.

The Bible tells us in several places that we are not to conform to the world:

2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.
~ Romans 12:2

15 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. ~ 1 John 2:15

If there is anything that you place above God, including your own desires, then you are breaking the first commandment because you are putting something before God and when you put anything before God, then that thing becomes your god.

Too many people live in God’s word – until it infringes upon their own desires of the flesh.

Then they discard it, the Word of God, submitting instead to the flesh, the world, rather than to God’s authority.

So, where are you today? Are you committed? Or do you need to be?

