GodsxLeading

 

Funny little cartoon, but so very, very true!

 

God has been working on me (always!) in quite a few areas, but lately He has been pressing me to read my Bible more.  He speaks to my spirit and confirmations in my everyday life. Just today, I ran across the cartoon I posted above. At about the same time I was looking at the cartoon, a friend started talking to me about some troubles she was having and I found myself telling her that the best thing she could do that would help immediately was to read the Bible.

 

I did not even know where that came from (ever have those moment where it is obvious that God is doing the talking, but He isn’t just talking to the other person – He is talking to you too?).

 

This led me to look and see just what the Bible says about reading God’s Word.

 

I was properly convicted. J

 

If you want to know just how important reading your Bible is, let’s see what GOD says about it…
The Truth will set you free!
 31 Jesus said to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings. 32 And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  

~JOHN 8:31-32

We must feed on the word.
4 But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say, ‘People do not live by bread alone,
but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”
~MATTHEW 4:4

Living in the Word will make you prosperous and successful (you will receive God’s blessings).
8 Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.
~JOSHUA 1:8

If you love Jesus, you will read and live by His word.
23 Jesus replied, “All who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come and make our home with each of them. 24 Anyone who doesn’t love me will not obey me. And remember, my words are not my own. What I am telling you is from the Father who sent me.
~JOHN 14:23-24

God’s word tells us what is right and guides us in living our lives and fulfilling God’s purpose for us.
16 All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. 17 God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.
~2 TIMOTHY 3:16-17

The spirit is what gives us life and God’s word nourishes the spirit, theyare spirit!
63 The Spirit alone gives eternal life. Human effort accomplishes nothing. And the very words I have spoken to you are spirit and life.
~JOHN 6:63

God’s Word is alive!
12 For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.
~HEBREWS 4:12

God’s Word is alive! The more you expose yourself to it, the more it will expose itself to you. You can’t escape the Truth, can’t hide from it, can’t pretend it out of existence. It is real, it is alive and it will set you FREE!

So, what I plan to do is post scripture, a verse or two, (I will try my hardest) every day (I might skip a day here and there). I will reflect on it, read it in context and discuss it. But I would like for you to discuss it too. I would like to know your thoughts, how it impacts your life. It will be a virtual Bible study.

How has God’s Word helped you? Do you find value in reading the Bible daily? Why?

Do you want to do this virtual Bible study with me?

