Just wanted to share this, sort of my testimony. Haven’t written poetry in years so I am not that great at it anymore, but I still wanted to share this…

I was young and oh so foolish,
too steeped in this world to see it.
I thought I was living, young and free
taking all of the world I could get,

But God saw more than a silly girl
He reached out to me anyway.
Still, I couldn’t be bothered
His rules would take my fun away.

And I cried to God,

I want to live
just have some fun
let me party
please, let me go.

God said, “No.”

Then the party finally came to an end
Rock bottom rose to meet me.
My friends moved on, I was alone
But sweet Jesus never left me.

Shame and guilt, they taunted me
with recollections of my past.
I couldn’t face Him, take His gift
I knew I had no right to ask.

And I cried to God,

I’m so ashamed
I’m not worthy,
Just let me die,
Let me go.

God said, “No.”

I gave my life to Him that day
Like fire His Holy Spirit rained
Finally I knew peace and love
I’d lost, but oh how I’d gained!

And my life before was but gone
A dim memory from my past.
I was cleansed and pure, Heaven bound!
Full of joy; content at last.

And I cried to God,

I’ve found rest in You
a place of peace,
Will you leave me alone?
Will you ever let me go?

God said, “No.”

   by Stephanie Mayberry

