I had the most amazing day at church! God spoke to me throughout the service. It was incredible.

I had to take some time this afternoon to process it all. It was one of those “Wow, God” moments.

I will give you background first. See, God has been dealing with me on some things, things that will take me way out of my comfort zone. He is pressing me to speak to groups, churches. I did public speaking in college, but then I had a topic given to me and an outline that someone, usually a professor, looked over and approved prior to my taking the stage. That makes me nervous, but He wants me talking to people, to groups, so I am ready. I know that He will facilitate it and that He will put the words in my mouth – especially after today.

I have spoken to one church a couple of months ago. It went very well.

While I have talked to my husband and a couple of other people about that concern, there is one thing I haven’t even had the nerve to take to God in prayer. I have been afraid that the group I have been called to minister to is too small. We are really a minority with just 1 person in about 150. I have wondered if my doing this would even make a difference.

Again, my answer came loud and clear today. I guess you really can’t hide from God. J (that makes me smile, especially when I think of all the times I tried to hide)

Finally, I have doubted myself. Is this making a difference? You know, the usual self doubt that creeps in to wreck God’s work. Plus, my life has not always been so great. I have not always been a very good person. I have done some things that are bad. I know that God has forgiven me, but still, sometimes those things from that past life creep in to haunt me and they make me feel like I have no business trying to lead others to God.

Today, though, as I sat in church, my answers came pouring out, loud and clear.

First, in Sunday school, the lesson was on not hiding your light. This was incredible because right before I left for church, I had read one of my devotionals that I get in my email. It said:

Now no one after lighting a lamp covers it over with a container, or puts it under a bed; but he puts it on a lampstand, so that those who come in may see the light. For nothing is hidden that will not become evident, nor anything secret that will not be known and come to light. ~Luke 8:16-17 (NASB)

See, I have the Truth in me and it is my responsibility to share it. God has called each of us to be a light to the world. This is my light and I have to let it shine.

Then, during the service, the pastor was talking. At first, he was talking about defending your ground, the things dear to you like ministries or people you are praying for. He was saying that the devil will try to knock you down and make you afraid, make you doubt whether you can do it, but it is worth defending.

Then, all of a sudden, he started talking about the woman at the well. She was not a “good person” by the society’s standards, yet Jesus asked her for water. As the pastor pointed out, He could have created His own quite easily, could have gotten His own water. But, He wanted to use her. He has a purpose for her, so He asked her to do something that He could have easily done himself. She was His vessel. The point was, the pastor said, was that all we have to do is allow God to do His work in us, give ourselves to Him, be His vessel, and He will use us. What’s more, He will facilitate it all, giving us the wisdom, the words, the means to do what He wants us to do.

Then the pastor said, “That wasn’t in my notes.” He never even knew that he was talking to me, that right then, at that moment, he was God’s vessel to reach out to me and let me know that this ministry is valuable and that He will facilitate it, will give me the words and the wisdom so that when the time comes and I do stand before people to talk about this, it will flow and reach the ears of those who need to hear it the most.

God sure is amazing, isn’t He?

ChristianxAspiexLogoxGIF

