Have you ever been in a situation that, well, was just stinky? It seemed that at every turn you were treated poorly, disrespectfully and knocked down again and again? Did you ever wonder, “Why is this happening to me?”

Sometimes we ask the wrong questions. And when you ask the wrong questions rarely will you get a clear answer.

Take for instance you have a bad job situation. Let’s say your boss is wicked or inept or is just a bad boss. Let’s say this boss is being cruel to you or instructing you to do things that you know are incorrect (not morally, but not the correct to do something).

What do you do?

Do you rail against the cruelty? Do you “stand up” to them and “tell it like it is” to end the mistreatment?

Do you take it upon yourself to instruct your boss on the correct way to do whatever it is that they are doing wrong? (this is especially difficult for me – if I know the right way I feel compelled to instruct the party in error)

And just how does that work out for you?

My guess would be that it doesn’t work out so well. Maybe the mistreatment stops for a while, but the turmoil is still there. The animosity is still brewing, boiling just under the surface.

If you are “instructing” your boss, it is likely that they don’t take too kindly to it, especially if they have a big ego. To them, you are just a peon and they are the almighty, all powerful BOSS. And the turmoil is still there, the animosity still brewing.

But what if God placed you in that situation to teach you something? What if He has bigger plans for you and wants to mold you, groom you for what is to come?

Are you listening?

Maybe you should stop asking “Why me, God?” and start asking, “What do you want me to learn from this, God?”

I have had a similar situation recently, mistreatment by someone in authority. This person has such hatred and animosity towards me, it is almost palpable. When they come around, the entire atmosphere changes and you can feel the spiritual influence – not in a good way. This person is definitely NOT representing God!

But, this person is only human, flesh and bone. They are of this world. So am I.

The way we react to authority in this world is in direct correlation to how we submit to the authority of God.

Think about it. If God does something that we don’t agree with, we tend to rail against Him, do it our way.

Because our way is so much better, right?

We decide what parts of God’s authority we should submit to and which areas we should “go it alone.”

But that isn’t how it works. We learn these lessons in this world so that we are better equipped for what is to come. So I had to learn to submit to this person who is mistreating me. I had to learn to find the joy in Jesus’ love and favor while putting myself in a situation that is demeaning, hurtful and cruel.

I have learned to look to Him. I have learned humility. I have learned that I can’t fix everyone and I certainly can’t save everyone. All I can do is set the best example possible. Someone is always watching.

I had to submit to this person’s authority even though I did not agree with the way they treat me.

There are times when you probably should not submit to an authority, such as:

  • ·         They instruct you to do something that will harm yourself or others
  • ·         They instruct you to do something immoral or unethical
  • ·         They instruct you to do something that is detrimental to you (i.e. something that would cause you to lose a professional license or something)
  • ·         They instruct you to do something that is illegal

There are probably others, but you get the idea.

Other than that, stick it out and learn how to humble yourself. Submit to the authority and learn from the situation. This is a necessary lesson for what is to come.

20 Although the Lord has given you bread of privation and water of oppression, He, your Teacher will no longer hide Himself, but your eyes will behold your Teacher. 21 Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left. ~Isaiah 30:20-21 (NAS)

It is not your time – yet.

