Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, last week was pretty tough. The devil launched quite an attack on me. I did hit a couple of low points, but, for the most part I praised and prayed my way through it.

But, what is most striking to me is that God had His hand in it all the entire time. Jesus got me through it and He is still getting me through it. But at the same time, He has been teaching me a powerful lesson.

I started praising as I felt the Holy Spirit moving, directing me to do so – even in the darkest times.

Then, on Sunday, our Sunday School lesson was on perseverance. How appropriate!

But when our pastor stepped up to deliver his sermon, I had to smile. He was teaching about joy, even in the darkest times.

Still, that was not enough, not for God. He wanted to drive the lesson home. I opened my email on Monday morning and was greeted with Philippians 4:4

 4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!

Wow, talk about driving home a message! So, I took it a step farther to explore Philippians 4:5-7

5 Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near. 6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

So, when I rejoice in the Lord, even in my dark times, He will bring me peace that surpasses our comprehension. What an awesome promise!

Still, I took it yet a step farther (because I was intrigued) to Philippians 4:8-9

8 Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things. 9 The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

So, God is with me even in the difficult times. Well, that in and of itself is a reason to rejoice, to experience the pure joy of being a favored, protected child of God!

And that is enough for me!

I will let the joy that can only come from Christ fill my heart. These things of the world may touch my life but momentarily and not destructively for I live in the protection, power and authority of Jesus Christ!

Amen!

