Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So, May 21, 2011, 6 pm, came and went – completely uneventful.

Now, many people who believed one man’s “prophesy” are broke, not just financially, but many in spirit and faith as well. The tragedy, I am certain, will unfold over the next few days or weeks as we hear more stories of people giving their entire life savings to support Mr. Camping’s cause.

Mr. Camping, you have been deceived.

The sad thing is you carried many, many people along with you and dragged them down into your deception as well.

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.” ~Matthew 7:15

I am sure you had good intentions (at least I hope so) and, yes, I agree that we should be out there saving souls. I must say you did have a powerful, far reaching campaign and if only you had been giving the right message, maybe this would not have been for naught.

If only…

See, I am a Christian. I know that one day Jesus will come. We will not know the day or the hour (Matthew 24:36), but I will be ready.

Will you?

I admit, I am only vaguely familiar with your other “prophesies” of rapture and the end of the world. Sadly, my youth was rather misspent and while God was an acquaintance, He was not the integral part of my life that He is today.

Today, He is the number one thing, person in my life. All I do is for Him – which is why I am writing this to you today.

But as these past days unfolded and I read more about you, your ministry and your predictions (for they are not prophesy, they are not even Biblical), I wept for the lives you were touching in all the wrong ways and all of the good that you could have done had you only opened your Bible and read it as it is instead of twisting its words for your own personal use. The Bible is the truth and you can’t change the truth. But you can twist it and mislead people, which is exactly what you did.

Mr. Harold Camping, I respect your obviously brilliant mind, your mathematics, but what you failed to understand is that our God is greater than your mathematics. God is greater than your brilliant mind. God is greater than your words and far, far greater than the spirit that deceived you.

See, you gave just enough truth to sound credible – on the surface. Yes, you are right – in part – there are many churches that are not biblical and I would even venture to say that the Spirit of God is not operating them – which would leave Satan at the helm, more of a spirit of antichrist. That is the thing about the spirit of antichrist, it gives just enough truth to sound credible, but it twists that truth, corrupting it and misleading the people. They get so close, so very close to salvation, to the truth, to God’s truth, then they are led off of the path and never make it back.

And you, Mr. Harold Camping, aided that spirit of antichrist in misleading how many people? Yes, you were deceived, but this highlights just how vital it is that we study the Bible.

That, my friend is the cure.

Jesus said that the sheep know the shepherd’s voice and so we should be like them and know Jesus’ voice (John 10:24-27). Yes, so many don’t know His voice and are led astray, but you, YOU, were doing the leading.

If you don’t know, truly know Jesus, then read the gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John). Then read Acts. Read what Jesus said, how He lived, what He taught. Then, Mr. Camping, pray. Pray aloud, into the atmosphere, for the power of life and death is in the tongue (Proverbs 18:21). Repent (not just for leading so many astray, but you should repent and ask for forgiveness every time you pray – but first you must forgive), ask for clarity, for wisdom, for discernment, to know His voice.

I will continue to pray for you and for those who believed in you. I have prayed throughout this ordeal. I have wept many tears as I brought this situation to God each morning. I prayed for peace of mind for the anxious, for clarity and wisdom, that somehow someone would reveal the truth to you and your followers.

Mr. Harold Camping, you still have a lot to learn. I have no doubt that in your heart you feel all of this was right and justified. You are so close, yet you don’t quite make the mark.

I hope that this will open discussions in churches all over the world and that pastors will teach the real Jesus, the One True God, teach how to know His voice.

We can learn a lot from you, Mr. Camping. I just regret the expense. While people lost their life savings, their possessions, many more lost things much more valuable such as faith and salvation.

And that, Mr. Camping, is the greatest crime all, misrepresenting salvation and leading people away from the kingdom instead of to it. Know His voice, sir, and then teach your people the TRUTH because if you don’t, the consequences are horrible.

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You travel over land and sea to win a single convert, and when you have succeeded, you make them twice as much a child of hell as you are.” ~Matthew 23:15

If you truly want to lead people to God, use God’s Word, not your own.

