Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It has gotten back to me that someone pulled some certain photos of me from my FaceBook profile. They did it for the sole purpose of highlighting the physical unattractiveness of the photo, of me. I know this because I have heard comments were made that I was “heavy.” They wanted to show how “unattractive” I look. I also know it because there were quite a few other photos that were of me not wearing a huge, baggy sweater and looking nicer (like the photo of my husband and me on our wedding day). So they just wanted to focus on the qualities that they perceive to be unattractive and to them, it seems, physical appearance is where at least a portion of a person’s worth lies.

People do this to each other all the time unfortunately.

My worth, however, does not lie in my physical appearance. Jesus thinks I am beautiful, so does my husband. They see the physical, but they see further, into my heart. That is all that matters. I am not my looks, my worth lies in something far more substantial, the salvation of my soul, the purity of my heart and the strength of my character.

I don’t care what they or anyone else thinks.

But these people, these scorpions, chose to focus on the things that they found unattractive. They chose to engage in gossip and revel in what they perceive to be my downfall instead of looking at all the wonderful things that God has done in my life (and in theirs – or could do in theirs).

Why do I call them scorpions? From a Biblical perspective, scorpions are the people who “sting” us either through their words or actions or just the way they treat us. This attempted “sting” was not done directly to me, but it got back to me. I feel sorry for them because they have allowed Satan to use them to try to bring me down, discourage me (they had to know that it would get back to me) and defeat me.

However, I have something that it seems they don’t know, don’t care or don’t understand. I have the protection and promise of Jesus Christ. He has given me the power to “tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy…(Luke 10-19). He has promised that nothing shall by any means hurt me.

I want that for them but I don’t know how to help them get it.

God has a lot to say about gossiping.

Proverbs 20:19, “He who goes about as a slanderer reveals secrets, therefore do not associate with a gossip.”

Romans 1:29, “…being filled with all unrighteousness, wickedness, greed, evil; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, malice; they are gossips…”

1Timothy 3:11, “Women must likewise be dignified, not malicious gossips, but temperate, faithful in all things.”

2 Timothy 3:3, “unloving, irreconcilable, malicious gossips, without self-control, brutal, haters of good…”

Titus 2:3, “Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good…”

I think that there are many, many people (not just these in particular) who need to heed the Word of God. They are walking in dangerous territory and playing a deadly game. They are selling their souls for a few moments of fleshly pleasure of gossip and maliciousness (or other things that are not Godly). The Bible gives clear direction for how we are to live our lives and treat others.

But those who choose to operate in league with the enemy have no dominion over me. I have authority granted me by God and I rebuke satan and those whom he recruits to do his work.

There are many people like this. They hold one hand to God, but cling tightly to this world. They may worship God, but it is a divided worship because they are worshiping the flesh as well through gossip and other sinful deeds or things that are not Godly.

It’s those little things that creep in, like gossip and pride and greed and envy. I catch myself sometimes talking about something and have to ask, “Is this gossip?” If there is no profit in what I say I stop. Pride can be confusing, but I don’t think I have a lot of that. I think that Asperger’s takes care of a lot of that. I just don’t care enough about those things. It isn’t built into me and I don’t understand it. In those ways, Asperger’s is a blessing. My husband is very good at explaining it all to me though.

Currently, I am facing discrimination on several levels including my disability (Autism/Asperger’s) in some areas of my life (I think much of the discrimination and unfair treatment, though, stems from ignorance. And I wonder just how much discrimination has been borne of ignorance?).

Satan has employed several malicious gossips at my job to try to beat me down. He has used people who profess to be Christians (but don’t act the way Jesus says we should act) to get close to me then betray me. He has pulled out all the stops in trying to get me to stop or at least falter in my walk with God. But it won’t work.

Again, these scorpions are trying to “sting” me to defeat me. But the devil can’t get to me no matter who he uses, whether it is family, friends, employer or even other Christians (or those who call themselves such).

No weapon formed against me will prosper. God promises me that in Isaiah 54:17. I can overcome satan no matter who or what he tries to throw my way.

I know that I am going in the right direction, doing the right things and gaining power and authority in the Kingdom of God.

I stand on the authority and power of Jesus Christ and no one, no one, can take that away from me. These people, these puppets of satan, can do what they like, try what they want, but they have no authority over me and they do not control my life or my salvation. Jesus is the only one who has that place in my life and I am not about to relinquish that.

All I can do is provide a positive example for them and continue praying for them.

Which side are you working for today? Are you being misled to operate for satan’s gain? Or are you truly walking in the light of God and following His word?

Are you someone’s scorpion?

