Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s funny. Sometimes God’s plan for me seems so clear cut, so logical. Then, out of nowhere, He places me in a situation that leaves me dumbfounded. I just want to look to the heavens and yell, “What are you thinking?!”

Somedays I feel like I am right where I am supposed to be, doing just what God wants me to do. Other days, though, I feel like God must have gotten me mixed up with someone else.

My husband says God doesn’t make mistakes, though, so He couldn’t have gotten me mixed up with someone else.

It still puzzles me, though.

Take, for instance, church. Now, everyone who knows me knows that I am quiet. Basically, I am an introvert. My AS makes me terribly self conscious about communicating with people (I am always afraid I am going to say the wrong thing or do the wrong thing) so I pretty much keep to myself.

My husband is very different from me. He plays guitar for the Praise Team and he talks to people. We usually get to church very, very early on Sunday mornings – often we are the first ones in the parking lot.

He practices before the service, but I am left to wander around the church. There are always things to help people with to get ready for service. However, somehow I always wind up in the welcome center.

Yes, you read that correctly, I end up working in the welcome center. I greet everyone as they come in, talk to newcomers and have them fill out a form, I answer questions and help people sign up for the various church activities.

Me, the introvert, working in the welcome center.

God must have a sense of humor.

One mornimg, though, I was praying about it all. I asked, “God, why do you keep steering me to the welcome center? You know I can’t talk to people. You know I am not equipped to handle that sort of interaction. I don’t have what it takes to do this!”

And God answered me.

He said, “All you need is a willing heart.”

That was good enough for me (but I still laugh a little – and get a little nervous – when I wind up there talking to all those people).

